Quality Score: The Key Component You’re Missing

What is Quality Score?

Quality Score is Google’s metric that assesses the quality of a keyword as it relates to its relevance to the ad text and landing page. The higher your score, on a scale of 1-10, the more Google will reward you. Quality score is key in any Google Ad Grant account.

Higher quality scores can:

  • Increase the likelihood of extensions being shown, which can expand ad space on the search network and encourage ad-clicks. More importantly, if your account is below a 5% CTR, a boost in ad-clicks can raise it.
  • Lower the cost-per-click of keywords and improve ad rank. Ad rank = (quality score) x (cost-per-click bid). Having a higher quality score means that you can achieve a better position for less cost-per-click (CPC).Let’s say we have 2 keywords with the same CPC of $1.00. One keyword has a quality score of 1, and the other has a quality score of 10. 1st Keyword: Ad rank = (1) x ($1.00) = 1. 2nd Keyword: Ad rank = (10) x ($1.00) = 10. Since the 2nd keyword has an ad rank that is higher than the 1st keyword, it would hold a higher position on the Google Search Network. More importantly, a higher quality score can also result in a lower CPC. Even if the 2nd keyword’s CPC was $0.50, the ad rank would equate to 5 and still beat out the 1st keyword for a better position.

Low quality scores can:

  • Impact traffic and click-through-rate. Google can actually prevent your ad from showing at all! Force you to delete or pause keywords (If a keyword has a quality score of 1 or 2, Google’s Policy will require you to take this action.)

How is quality score assessed?

  • 3 components will determine your quality score:
  1. Expected* Click-Through-Rate: The probability that your ad will be clicked on.
  2. Ad Relevance: How relevant your ad is to what a user is searching for.
  3. Landing Page Experience: How navigable & user-friendly the landing page is.

Each of these assessments will be give a status of below average, average or above average. The cumulative score of these components will determine the quality score. You can customize your columns in Google Ads to view how you’re doing on these three components.

*When you first create keywords, the click-through-rate is based off of an expected CTR, which is predicted by Google. More importantly, the CTR will be based off of the historical data of that keyword once it collects more data.

What if I have a below average…

Landing Page: Revise your landing pages to be relevant to the keywords users search to find you.

CTR: Change your ad text copy to something that will catch your audience’s eye and make them want to click on your ad.

Ad Relevance: Create very specific ad groups for a small group of keywords and create unique ad text for each of them. Let’s say you are a nonprofit focused on saving the environment. Instead of grouping keywords like ‘save the ocean’, ‘how to recycle’ and ‘plant trees’ under the same ad group it might be better to put each of these keywords in their own ad group and customize the ad text to include these keywords.

Do some keyword research if you find that a good chunk of your keywords have a low quality score. Keyword research allows you to find high-traffic search terms and has the potential to drive new visitors to your organization’s website.

To summarize, the overall goal of a quality score is to improve the relevancy of ads to what users are searching for. If you keep this in mind, you’ll be well on your way to avoiding future suspensions and directing traffic to your website!

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About Conversion Tracking

What is a conversion?

A conversion is defined as any action a user takes on your website that you deem valuable. For some, this is a donation, for others it’s a registration.

Why track conversions?

Tracking conversions is essential to the success of any digital marketing effort. If you don’t understand what actions are leading to growing your impact, you can’t effectively make the right decision to optimize for them.

How we track conversions

Our team will install and implement platforms such as Google Tag Manager and Google Analytics to track and assess these metrics. Our best practices with this valuable data enables us to optimally manage your account.

The Role Of Your Account Manager

What is an Account Manager?

Each one of our clients is matched with a Dedicated Account Manager (AM), who is both your digital marketing expert and main point-of-contact.

What is their expertise?

Upon joining ConnectAd, all AMs go through an extensive training & certification program before managing nonprofit accounts. Additionally, AMs go through further training each week as part of our culture of learning so that they can continue to develop their skill set.

As a result, AMs become proficient in multiple areas of digital marketing to the benefit of our clients.

A $499 Application Setup Fee May Apply

Before you apply for the Google Ad Grant, nonprofits require:

  1. Access to an approved Techsoup account
  2. Access to an approved Google for Nonprofits account
If you have both of the above, we will waive the $499 setup fee and complete the rest of the Google Ad Grants application process of your behalf.

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